Children’s books – can you DIY?

When I was a child my parents used to read to me a lot, these were moments I really cherished and many of the books they read are still to this day books that I enjoy, for example I love Elsa Beskow’s The Sun Egg! At the preschool where I work I often read to the children and one thing has caught my attention – how many crappy children’s books there are out there! I mean of course there are a lot of good books too, but there are also surprisingly many that, in my eyes, are poorly written and filled with fantasy-killing illustrations. This made me think of the books that were read to me as a child and I had the thought that I might bring some of them to the preschool and read them for the children.

Another idea also saw the light of day as I continued to think about this, as some of you may know I really enjoy both writing and drawing and as I sat there thinking about all the books that I didn’t like, this thought popped up in my head: What if I would write and illustrate a fairytale? What if maybe I could do a little book? Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that I will go ahead and create some sort of masterpiece, but all this thinking about children’s stories and how much I loved reading them and looking at the beautiful illustrations really made me excited about trying it out myself!

So this past week I’ve been trying to come up with characters and an idea for the storyline to build on. I’ve come up with a few characters, the story however is taking a bit longer.. but that’s alright with me, I’m in no specific rush and essentially I’m doing this project for me. Because it’s something fun and exciting to try out.


Meet my character Théa 🙂


I make tiny little sketches and colour them to get an idea of what I might want the pages to look like


Photos from a trip to Hjo, all those windflowers gave me inspiration to the story..


This is in fact the first inspo I made for my story, it was a quick doodle of my character Théa and a photo I took one day when I was biking 🙂


Anyways. I haven’t gotten very far but I’m enjoying the process of coming up with ideas and even though it’s hard not to come up with too many ideas, it’s also an interesting experience. Now however it is getting very late and I should be off to bed. I might keep you a little bit updated as the story comes along, if it comes along indeed.. 😉

Did any of your parents read to you? What books did you enjoy as a child?

Linnéa ♥

3 thoughts on “Children’s books – can you DIY?

  1. The Other Watson says:

    Théa is such an awesome character! 😀 And I love those sketches you’ve coloured in, haven’t seen them yet (as in, before now) but they look really good! I can totally imagine the finished product of this and think it’ll be great! 🙂

    I don’t actually know if my parents read to me as a child. I assume they did, but I only remember loving Roald Dahl, for the most part. 😛

  2. vivi says:

    Ooooohhhh, jag som aldrig riktigt varit förtjust i böcker kommer definitivt läsa din! go for it girl! saknar dig ❤

Leave a Reply

