Looking back: Prom

For years I had been saying that I was Not gonna go to prom. I don’t really know why, I’ve always been a bit of ‘against the stream’ just for the sake of it (we only have one prom in Sweden and it’s in the finishing year so it’s kind of a big deal). And I was insecure, didn’t know who I would go with and blah blah blah. But a few weeks before prom (I graduated this summer and the prom was right before that) I suddenly felt the urge to go! I wanted to. By then every single girl had already found and bought their dresses as well as fixed a promdate. I hadn’t of course since I wasn’t gonna go. Yay!

Anyhow, I found a dress I’ve been dreaming about for Years, no I’m not a total girl for that! It is the green dress that Keira Knightley wears in Atonement. I’ve loved that dress ever since but there was No way that I was going to afford it xD Not even the copies I found (which were Ugly as well), none of them were cheaper than like.. 2000 dollars!?

But then – I found it. On the internet. It looked like I wanted it, okay not exactly like the one from the film, but come on? It cost me only a 100 bucks! So I ordered it. The weeks went by, I was getting nervous, where the heck was my dress?? And I hadn’t found a promdate yet either. In my eyes it started to look like a disaster.. Then finally the dress arrived and somehow my aawesome friend Aya managed to fix me a promdate – a girl named Nawal. I was in the end really happy that I went with a girl – so much more relaxed not having to worry about if the other person was hitting on me or not x)

It was a great night and I am really happy that I went πŸ˜€


Me, my friend Aya, random couple and my beautiful promdate!


Freddi, superfriend Michelle, me and Aya.


Aya and some swag dude taking this posing-thing very seriously.. πŸ˜›


I love how Aya’s rainbow dress ties us all together πŸ˜› And we held our prom right by the beach.. it was really lovely πŸ™‚ You can only see the sandhills here though ^^


Happy crew!


We look like the powerpuff girls! xD


A friend of mine (who is good with the camera) was kind enough to snap some pictures of me before prom. This is one of them.

It is really nice to reminisce a bit. You sorta miss school, not only prom, but the studying and learning new things all the time! That’s what I love about school. Of course having to do well on tests and having essays to finish and grades to be good can be stressful, that part – the pressure part, isn’t always so fun. But the other part according to me is wonderful. I love to learn simply πŸ™‚

Be swag people, be swag..

LinnΓ©a β™₯

6 thoughts on “Looking back: Prom

  1. theotherwatson says:

    ” I was in the end really happy that I went with a girl – so much more relaxed not having to worry about if the other person was hitting on me or not”

    Judging from that first picture, you were the one doing all the hitting on… πŸ˜› But you do look stunning in that dress. πŸ™‚

  2. The Northern Plights says:

    It is down to me again, isn’t it? Sometimes I resent my role as the Only One Left Standing!

    What you attended, my dearest, was NOT a prom but rather a ball. A prom is an Americanisation which would make my dearly departed forefathers spin in their graves. A ‘prom’ is one concert which makes up a series of concerts in the United Kingdom known as The Proms. It is a summer long event held in the magnificent Royal Albert Hall where daily classical concerts are held. It is a wonderful day or evening out. You will see in this clip that in the centre of the venue there are people standing, these people are known as the promers, ‘prom’ is short for promendade, as in ‘to walk’.

    The clip also shows some footage of Hyde Park, an area you have no doubt walked throgh on a visit to London, even if you were unaware of it! This clip shows the last prom of the season and is always a time when the brow is lowered and fun is had, it is, I can assure you, an utter blast πŸ™‚

    You are not American, my dear, and until you bang your head repeatedly with a frozen falukorv you will not have a brain cell count to qualify you as a quasi-Yank!

    All the best, as ever…

    ~The Dippylomat esq.

    • Got my book says:

      Well my dear friend I did not know you englishmen also call it a ball like we do in Sweden, unfortunately I only knew the american expression.. but I am always happy to be enlightened!

      And yes, I have been to Hyde Park πŸ™‚ I took my best friend to London as a graduation gift for her. I made a little picnic basket with some goodies in it and then left a note in it that said: We are going on picnic my dear! We’re going on a picnic in Hyde Park! πŸ™‚

      It was a lot of fun to see her facial expression change from a happy smile to complete jaw-dropping ^^ She thought the basket was her present.. hehe until she read the note πŸ˜›

      So as I promised we went on a picnic to Hyde Park, drinking strawberry bubbly and eating fresh fruits sitting under a big oaktree πŸ™‚ It was one of the best days in my life!

    • Got my book says:

      Hahaha aww! You’re soo sweet!! πŸ˜€ Being compared to a fairy is like the best compliment ever! πŸ˜› So how are you then? And where do you come from by the way? Always fun to ‘meet’ my readers πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

